Time-Zone Changes

+Time-Zone Changes


Time zones are divided into standard and daylight saving (or summer); the daylight saving time is included an offset (typically +1) in the time zone. Standard time zone can be defined as the earth’s spheroid, and divided into 24 Lune’s, bordered by meridians each 15 of longitude apart. The time-zone is based on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), also called Universal Time (UT), the mean solar time at longitude 0. The new time system is Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Location(s) Time zone Time
Apia, Pago Pago UTC -11 01:00
Honolulu, Papeete UTC-10 02:00
Anchorage, Juneau UTC-9 03:00
Los Angeles, San Francisco, Las Vegas, Vancouver UTC-8 04:00
Calgary, Denver UTC-7 05:00
Chicago, Minneapolis, Mexico City, Houston, Dallas UTC-6 06:00
Toronto, New York City, Washington D.C., Havana, Kingston, Bogotá, Detroit, Lima UTC-5 07:00
Caracas UTC-4:30 07:30
Asunción, Bridgetown, Halifax, Santiago UTC-4 08:00
Buenos Aires, Montevideo, Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo UTC-3 09:00
Fernando de Noronha, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands UTC-2 10:00
Azores, Cape Verde UTC-1 11:00
Dakar, Casablanca, London, Lisbon, Reykjavík, Tenerife UTC (UTC±0) 12:00
Algiers, Berlin, Kinshasa, Lagos, Paris, Rome, Tunis UTC+1 13:00
Istanbul, Athens, Damascus, Cairo, Cape Town, Helsinki, Jerusalem UTC+2 14:00
Addis Ababa, Baghdad, Moscow, Riyadh, Saint Petersburg UTC+3 15:00
Tehran UTC+3:30 15:30
Baku, Dubai, Mauritius, Samara, Tbilisi UTC+4 16:00
Karachi, Maldives, Tashkent, Yekaterinburg UTC+5 17:00
Colombo, Delhi, Mumbai UTC+5:30 17:30
Kathmandu UTC+5:45 17:45
Almaty, Dhaka, Omsk UTC+6 18:00
Cocos Islands, Yangon UTC+6:30 18:30
Bangkok, Jakarta, Hanoi, Krasnoyarsk UTC+7 19:00
Beijing, Hong Kong, Irkutsk, Kuala Lumpur, Manila, Perth,Taipei UTC+8 20:00
Pyongyang, Seoul, Tokyo, Yakutsk UTC+9 21:00
Adelaide, Darwin UTC+9:30 21:30
Melbourne, Sydney, Vladivostok UTC+10 22:00
Magadan, Nouméa UTC+11 23:00
Auckland, Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Suva UTC+12 00:00 (the following day)
Nukuʻalofa UTC+13 01:00 (the following day)
Line Islands UTC+14 02:00 (the following day)

The Effect on Pilot

The change of time-zone can cause sleep disruption, this is because flying to other time-zone is changed the pilot’s “body-clock”, therefore, the pilots may feel quite tired and fatigued at the same time and also pilot may have experience sleep difficulties (jet lag). Secondly, the westward flight makes the pilot’s day longer than eastward flight, which mean the eastward flight the day is shorter.

Recover from the time-zone changes

Sleeping pills may assist in the re-adjustment of the “body clock” by helping to regulate sleep once in the new time-zone, but should not be used for more than two to three nights, and preferably in a reducing dose. However, the pilot should get into the new time-zone as soon as possible, the solution is included, change to the local time before arrive to the destination; sleep at the correct local time, or if the pilots are only stay at the destination for a couple days, they might have to choice and sleep at the departure place. The good quality and uninterrupted sleep is very important for the pilots, this is because the pilot have to make the decisions.

Ewing, R. L. (2006). Aviation medicine and other human factors for pilots. Christchurch, N.Z. : Old Sausage Publishers.

Contributors to this page

Authors / Editors

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License